Skip to content

YO5PBG Wavelenght

Amateur Radio, QRP, Home Made

It should be a secret. But I hope that those who (will) read me, should know. Hope it is helpful this personal HOW TO.

So, QRP means less than 5W, let’s say less than 25 Watts, but not more. OK?

Prelude

Why do I use QRP (at home, or portable)? Because I design my own transceivers and accesories. I never had power transistors, until recently when I received some 25W power transistors @ 24 Volts for 432MHz, 25W for 50MHz (both integrated into two Power Amplifiers for the specified bands) and some higher power trasistors for HF (not used yet because I don’t have a good power supply for them). 

“Operating QRO” with QRP transceivers?

Yes! 5 watts can beat 1kw. For this you must be a good operator. (And a good antenna, if posible)

I don’t consider myself an extra one, but, I cannot be modest. I have my tactics, learned from my logical aproach, by personal experiences.

  • 1. I don’t use clusters, just rarely. You must always be there. You must feel the air, the band. You must be there, almost always. Also in your dreams.
  • 2. Never say “I cannot work a weak DX”! I said so when I first heard Japan on 50MHz, and I missed it in my log. The other day I worked Hong Kong on the same band with 2watts and a dipole. You must call, call, and call. Don’t be frustrated because of your low power.
  • 3. Use your hands continously. Now on the speed pot. of your keyer, than on the frequency dial.  Propagation and the other side operator are the factors here. For example, i copy better high speed CW if louder the signal. Better I copy some CW tone than other. Some propagations allow only QRS others only high speed CW to be corectly copied.
  • 4. A technical problem: test, retest, experiment antennas! (The only thing I did’nt for long time)

Good Luck QRP’ers!

Tags: , , , , , ,

